Banner Sustainability Poduction

الاستدامة

الإنتاج

ترتبط الاستدامة ارتباطًا أصيلاً بمنتجاتنا؛ فنحن نستخدم الألياف الطبيعية والمتجددة والمعاد تدويرها على نحو متسم بالمسؤولية. وفوق ذلك كله ننفِّذ تصاميم مبتكرة ونضمن تصنيعًا عالي الكفاءة في مصانعنا للحفاظ على البيئة من أجل الأجيال القادمة في المستقبل.

الاستدامة

الإنتاج

ترتبط الاستدامة ارتباطًا أصيلاً بمنتجاتنا؛ فنحن نستخدم الألياف الطبيعية والمتجددة والمعاد تدويرها على نحو متسم بالمسؤولية. وفوق ذلك كله ننفِّذ تصاميم مبتكرة ونضمن تصنيعًا عالي الكفاءة في مصانعنا للحفاظ على البيئة من أجل الأجيال القادمة في المستقبل.

Sustainability - Production (used)

الاستعانة بالمصادر المسؤولة

لتحقيق أهداف Asia Pulp and Papers للاستدامة  في الإنتاج، نطلب من جميع مورِّدينا الحاليين والمحتملين الامتثال لسياستنا المعنية بالمحافظة على الغابات ((FCPوقد وضعنا أيضًا سياسة عمليات الشراء والمشتريات المسؤولة للألياف (RFPPP) لتوجيه مورِّدينا؛ فهي توفر إطار عمل شاملاً للإجراءات والمعايير الخاصة التي نستخدمها في تقييم مدى امتثالهم لسياستنا المعنية بالمحافظة على الغابات.

إضافة إلى ذلك، طوَّرنا أيضًا أدوات تقييم المورِّدين وتقييم المخاطر (SERA) لتسهيل إنفاذ سياسة عمليات الشراء والمشتريات المسؤولة للألياف عبر سلسلة توريد الألياف التابعة لنا. وفي حالة المورِّدين الجدد، تُستخدم تلك الأدوات كآليات فرز أولية لتقييم مستوى المخاطر التي تنطوي عليها عمليات أحد المورِّدين. وبعد قبول المورِّدين وتسجيلهم في قائمتنا المعتمدة، سيخضعون لتقييمات سنوية عبر تلك الآليات لضمان التزامهم الدائم بسياسة المحافظة على الغابات.

يستند تقييم المورِّدين عبر آليات تقييم المورِّدين وتقييم المخاطر إلى 12 مؤشرًا:

الشركة، أو أي من الشركات المنتسبة إليها في صناعة لُب الخشب، التي تحوِّل الغابات الطبيعية إلى أغراض أخرى بعد الأول من فبراير/شباط 2013.

البلد/المنطقة

أنواع الأشجار

شهادة/اعتماد أطراف ثالثة

نظام سلسلة المسؤولية

الامتثال للقانون

حماية قيم الحفظ العالية ومخزون الكربون العالي

حماية الأنواع المسجَّلة في القائمة الحمراء للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض الصادرة عن الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة والموارد الطبيعية واتفاقية الاتجار الدولي بأنواع الحيوانات والنباتات البرية المهددة بالانقراض

احترام الشركة للحقوق المدنية التقليدية وحقوق الإنسان

الالتزام بالاتفاقيات الأساسية الصادرة عن منظمة العمل الدولية

احترام الشركة لصحة عمال الغابات وسلامتهم

عدم استقدام كائنات محورة جينيًا

لا نقبل أخشابًا إلا من المورِّدين الذين لم يقدموا على تحويل أي منطقة غابات محددة ضمن مخزون الكربون العالي (HCS) اعتبارًا من فبراير/شباط 2013.

استنادًا إلى نتائج تقييم المخاطر، نصنِّف المورِّدين المحتملين إلى فئة "خطر كبير" أو "خطر مهمل". فإذا صُنِّف مورد محتمل ضمن فئة "خطر كبير"، فسيتوجب عليه تنفيذ إجراءات تصحيحية (CARs) في غضون فترة زمنية متفق عليها؛ وإلا، فلن يُقبل ضمن مورِّدينا.

نحمِّل ملخص تقرير تقييم المخاطر لجميع المورِّدين المحتملين في موقع مراقبة Asia Pulp and Paper للإشعار العام، وذلك قبل 14 يومًا من اتخاذ القرار بشأن قبول المورِّد المحتمل أو عدم قبوله ضمن سلسلة توريد لُب الخشب التابعة لنا.

الكربون والطاقة

carbon

نظرًا إلى تعذر الحصول على الكهرباء من خلال الاعتماد على شبكات الكهرباء وحدها لتلبية متطلباتنا الكاملة من الطاقة، يجب على مصانعنا الاعتماد على أنفسها في توليد الطاقة والبخار؛ لذلك، نستخدم محروقات متجددة إن أمكن، بينما لا نجد في بعض الحالات الأخرى أي خيارات سوى استخدام الفحم والغاز الطبيعي.

يشكِّل استخدام تلك المحروقات أهم العوامل المساهمة في الانبعاثات الكربونية من عملياتنا؛ فأقل من 11% من انبعاثاتنا ترتبط بالكهرباء التي يتم شراؤها. ونخفف من الآثار المترتبة على عملياتنا عبر مراعاة بعض الاعتبارات المتأنية لأنواع المحروقات، والاستثمار في الإنتاج الفعّال لضمان خفض متطلباتنا من الطاقة إلى أدنى حد ممكن.

لقد نجحنا في خفض كثافة انبعاثات الكربون بنسبة 18% بنهاية عام 2018 مقابل النسبة المستهدفة 10%، مقارنة بالمعدل المرجعي في عام 2012. وقد تحقق ذلك بالدرجة الأولى من خلال توليد الطاقة من المحروقات المتجددة بدلاً من المحروقات الحفرية. وفي الوقت ذاته، انخفضت كثافة استهلاك الطاقة بنسبة 9% بنهاية عام 2018 مقارنة بالمعدل المرجعي في عام 2012، وهي نسبة تقل بشكل طفيف عن تلك المستهدفة 10% التي نلتزم بالوصول إليها ضمن رؤية 2020.

المياه

تمثِّل المياه ركنًا أساسيًا في عملياتنا؛ إذ نستخدمها في إنتاج العجينة الورقية والورق وتوليد البخار في مختلف مراحل عمليات التصنيع. وندرك في الوقت ذاته أن المسؤولية تحتم علينا حماية مصادر المياه المحلية في جميع مواقع مصانعنا؛ لذلك، عمدنا إلى خفض الاستهلاك إلى الحد الأدنى وضمان توافق أنظمة تصريف المياه التي نستخدمها مع أعلى المعايير البيئية حتى نتمكن من إعادة تدويرها من جديد إلى مصادر المياه.

وفي سبيل ذلك، أجرينا دراسات للتوازن المائي في جميع مصانعنا، وفحوصًا لعينات منتظمة بمساعدة خبراء مياه من الخارج. وقد آتت تلك الجهود أُكلها في عام 2018 عندما أعدنا استخدام وتدوير 15% من مياهنا في عمليات الإنتاج. ويدلل ذلك على انخفاض استهلاكنا للمياه النقية وتقليل كثافة استهلاكنا للمياه بنسبة 24% مقارنة بالمعدل المرجعي لعام 2013.

يمثِّل Pindo Deli Perawang أحد مصانعنا التي جنت فورًا ثمار التجهيزات العصرية عقب وصول ماكينة المناديل الورقية إليه. وأُجريت مراجعات استهلاك المياه في المصنع منذ عام 2015. ومن خلال العمل في اتجاه عكسي من تصريف المياه إلى مصدر المياه، يقيِّم الفريق الهندسي التوازن المائي في العملية ويحدد الجوانب التي تحتاج إلى تحسين. وقد ساهمت جميع التعديلات التي أُدخلت على أنظمة الضخ وموانع التسرب وأدشاش الغسل بالضغط في انخفاض كثافة استهلاك المياه بنسبة 41% بين عامي 2015 و2018.

على غرار جميع مصانعنا، أعاد Indah Kiat Perawang استخدام المياه في مختلف مراحل عمليات التصنيع؛ مما أدى إلى خفض الطلب على المياه النقية. ومن خلال تقليل معدلات تدفق المياه الساخنة إلى جانب جمع حرارة التكاثف المستردة وإعادة استخدامها، تمكن المصنع من خفض كثافة المياه المستهلكة في إنتاج عجينة الورق والورق بنسبة 13% و7% على الترتيب مقابل المعدل المرجعي لعام 2015. ومن خلال تجديد المعدات الحالية وتركيب معدات متطورة لاسترداد الألياف، نجح المصنع أيضًا في تقليل مجموع الجوامد العالقة من أنشطة تصنيع عجينة الورق بنسبة 63%. وستستمر الاستثمارات والتحسينات خلال عام 2019 مع استهداف خفض مجموع الجوامد العالقة بنسبة 83%.

النفايات

تأتي معظم نفاياتنا من إنتاج الطاقة الميداني وعمليات تصنيع عجينة الورق والورق. وفي إطار التزاماتنا بالاقتصاد الدائري، نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتقليل النفايات إلى الحد الأدنى وتعزيز فرص إعادة استخدام مواد النفايات بالشكل الأمثل.

ونحوِّل المنتجات الثانوية: كالراسب الأسود ولحاء الخشب والمخلفات الأخرى الناتجة من أنشطة الحراجة وتصنيع عجينة الورق إلى مصادر طاقة تحل مباشرة محل المحروقات الحفرية في مصانعنا المتكاملة لإنتاج عجينة الورق والورق. وإلى جانب صرف النفايات عن المكبات والمطامر، يساعد استخدام مصادر النفايات تلك على تقليل كثافة انبعاثات الكربون من مصانعنا بشكل كبير، وقد شهد عام 2018 استخدام مصانعنا المتكاملة ما يزيد عن 9 ملايين طن من تلك المنتجات الثانوية.

بالعمل عن كثب مع الحكومات المحلية التي تصدر تراخيص مناولة النفايات التي نحتاج إليها لإعادة استخدام مصادر النفايات، نستمر في التطلع إلى تكنولوجيات مناسبة أو شركاء معنيين لمنحنا مثل تلك الفرص.

شهادات الاعتماد

لقد وسَّعنا نطاق سلسلة توريد لُب الخشب المعتمدة من أطراف ثالثة رسمية، ونستخدم شهادات الاعتماد كأداة ضمان "لسلسلة المسؤولية" التي تتيح لنا تتبع الألياف التي نستخدمها حتى وصولها إلى مصدر متسم بحسن الإدارة.

Banner Sustainability Poduction

Sustainability

Production

Sustainability is intrinsically linked to our products because we use responsibly sourced, renewable, and recycled fiber. On top of that, we apply innovative design and ensure high manufacturing efficiency in our mills to preserve the environment for our future generations.

Sustainability

Production

Sustainability is intrinsically linked to our products because we use responsibly sourced, renewable, and recycled fiber. On top of that, we apply innovative design and ensure high manufacturing efficiency in our mills to preserve the environment for our future generations.

Sustainability - Production

Responsible Sourcing

To achieve Asia Pulp and Papers' sustainability goals in production, we require all suppliers--both current and potential--to comply with our Forest Conservation Policy (FCP). Additionally, we have also developed the Responsible Fiber Procurement and Purchasing Policy (RFPPP) to guide our suppliers. It provides an overarching framework for the specific processes and criteria that we use in evaluating their compliance with our FCP.

Furthermore, we also developed Supplier Evaluation and Risk Assessment (SERA) tools to facilitate the implementation of the RFPPP across our fiber supply chain. For new suppliers, SERA acts as an initial screening to evaluate the level of risk within a supplier’s operations. Once accepted on our list, these approved suppliers will be subjected to annual SERA evaluations to ensure continued compliance with the FCP.

SERA evaluates suppliers against 12 indicators:

The company, or any of its associated companies in the pulpwood industry, converting natural forest after February 1st, 2013.

Country / region

Tree species

Third-party certification/verification

Chain of Custody System

Legality Compliance

Protection of High Conservation Values or High Carbon Stock

Species protection as listed on the IUCN Red List of Critical Endangered Species and CITES

Company’s respect for traditional civil and human rights

Compliance with ILO Core Conventions

Company’s respect for the health and safety of forest workers

No introduction of genetically modified organisms (GMOs)

We only accept woods from suppliers that have not converted any forest area identified as High Carbon Stock (HCS) as of February 2013.

Based on the risk assessment results, we categorize potential suppliers into "significant risk" or "negligible risk." If a potential supplier is categorized as a "significant risk," it will be required to implement corrective actions (CARs) within an agreed period. Otherwise, it will not be accepted as our supplier.

We upload the summary of the risk assessment report of all potential suppliers on the Asia Pulp and Paper monitoring site for public notification, 14 calendar days before we decide on whether or not to accept the potential supplier into our pulpwood supply chain.

Carbon and Energy

carbon

As we can’t rely on grid electricity alone to meet our entire energy demands, our mills must generate electricity and steam on their own. Therefore, we use renewable fuels where feasible, while in other cases our only option is to use coal or natural gas.

Such fuel use is the main contributor to carbon emissions in our operations. Less than 11% of our emissions are related to purchased electricity. And we mitigate our impacts through careful considerations of fuel types and investments on efficient production to ensure our energy demands are as low as possible.

We achieved a carbon Intensity reduction of 18% by the end of 2018, compared to a 2012 baseline, against a target of 10%. It is achieved predominantly by replacing fossil fuels with renewable fuels for energy generation. Meanwhile, our energy intensity decreased by 9% by the end of 2018, compared to a 2012 baseline, slightly short of our target of 10% that we committed to in Vision 2020.

Water

Water is key to our operation as we use it in pulp and paper production and steam production at various stages of the processes. At the same time, we recognize that our responsibility is to protect local water sources at all of our mill sites. Therefore, we minimize our consumption and ensure that our water-discharge meets the highest environmental standards so we can recycle it back to the water sources.

To do that, we conduct water balance studies at all mills and conduct regular sampling checks with the help of external water experts. And as a result, in 2018, we reused and recycled 15% of our water in our production processes. It means that we use less freshwater, reducing our water usage intensity by 24%, compared to the 2013 baseline.

Pindo Deli Perawang is one of our mills that immediately saw the benefits of modern installations, following the arrival of its new tissue machine. Water use audits have been conducted at the mill since 2015. Working backward from water-discharge to water source, the engineering team assess the water balance of the process and identify improvement areas. Modifications to pumping systems, seals and wash press showers all contributed to a 41% reduction in water use intensity from 2015 to 2018.

And like all of our mills, Indah Kiat Perawang reuses water in various processes throughout its operations, reducing the demand for freshwater. By reducing dilution rates of hot water besides collecting and reusing condensate heat recovery, the mill has reduced its water usage intensity for pulp and paper production by 13% and 7%, respectively, against the 2015 baseline. By overhauling existing equipment and installing improved fiber recovery equipment, the mill also reduced its total suspended solids (TSS) from pulp making activities by 63%. Investments and improvements will continue through 2019, with a target TSS reduction of 83%.

Waste

The majority of our waste comes from our onsite power production and pulp and paper making process. As a part of our commitments to the circular economy, we endeavor to minimize waste and maximize the opportunities to reuse waste materials.

We turn by-products, like black liquor, bark, and other residues from forestry and pulping activities, into energy sources that directly replace fossil fuels at our integrated pulp and paper mills. Besides diverting waste from landfills, using these waste streams helps reduce the carbon intensity of our mills significantly. In 2018, our integrated mills utilized over 9 million tonnes of these by-products.

Working closely with local governments, who issue the waste handling licenses we require to reuse a waste stream, we continue to look for suitable technologies or partners to provide us with such opportunities.

Certification

We have expanded the hectarage of our pulpwood supply chain that is covered by formal third-party certification. We use certification as a ‘chain of custody’ assurance tool that enables us to trace the fiber that we use to a well-managed source.