Banner Sustainability Poduction

可持续发展

生产

可持续发展与我们的产品有着内在联系,因为我们使用来自负责任采购、可再生的回收纤维。此外,我们还采用创新设计,确保工厂的高效生产,为我们的子孙后代保护环境。

可持续发展

生产

可持续发展与我们的产品有着内在联系,因为我们使用来自负责任采购、可再生的回收纤维。此外,我们还采用创新设计,确保工厂的高效生产,为我们的子孙后代保护环境。

Sustainability - Production (used)

负责任的采购

为实现亚洲浆纸业有限公司(APP)的可持续发展目标 - 包括现有和潜在供应商 - 遵守我们的《森林保护政策》 (FCP)。此外,我们还制定《负责任的纤维采购和购买政策》 (RFPPP) 来指导我们的供应商。它为我们评估供应商是否遵守《森林保护政策》的具体流程和标准提供一个总框架。

我们还开发了“供应商评估和风险评估” (SERA) 工具,以促进在整个纤维供应链中实施RPPP。对于新供应商,SERA将用于初步筛选,以评估供应商运营的风险水平。一旦进入我们的名单,经批准的供应商将接受年度SERA评估,以确保继续遵守FCP。

SERA根据12项指标对供应商进行评估:

在2013年2月1日之后转换天然林的公司或其在纸浆木材行业的任何关联公司。

国家/地区

树种

第三方认证/核查

监管链系统

合法性合规性

保护高保护价值或高碳储量

列入《世界自然保护联盟濒危物种红色名录》和《濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约》的物种保护

公司尊重传统的公民权利和人权

遵守劳工组织核心公约

公司重视林区工人的健康和安全

不引进转基因生物 (GMO)

我们只接受截至2013年2月未转换任何高碳储量 (HCS) 林区的供应商提供的木材。

根据风险评估结果,我们将潜在供应商的风险分为“重大风险”或 “可忽略风险”。如果潜在供应商具有“重大风险”,该供应商将需要在约定时间内实施纠正措施 (CAR)。否则,它将不会成为我们的供应商。

我们在决定是否接受潜在供应商进入我们的纸浆木材供应链前,会提前14个日历日,将所有潜在供应商的风险评估报告摘要上传至亚洲浆纸业有限公司监测 网站上进行公示。

碳与能源

carbon

由于我们不能仅仅依靠电网电力来满足全部能源需求,我们的工厂必须自行发电和生产蒸汽。在可行的情况下,我们使用可再生燃料,在其他情况下,我们的唯一选择是使用煤炭或天然气。

这些燃料的使用是我们运营中碳排放的主要来源。在我们的排放中,只有不到11%与外部购买的电力有关。我们通过仔细选择燃料种类和投资高效生产来减轻影响,以尽可能降低我们的能源需求。

与2012年的基线相比,我们在2018年底降低18%的碳强度,远远超过10%的目标。 这主要是通过用可再生燃料替代化石燃料进行能源生产来实现的。同时,与2012年的基线相比,到2018年底,我们的能源强度降低9%,略低于我们在《2020年愿景》中承诺的10%的目标。

水资源

水是我们运营的关键,因为我们在纸浆和纸张生产以及蒸汽生产的各个阶段都要用到水。我们认识到,我们有责任保护我们所有工厂所在地的当地水源。因此,我们将消耗降到最低,并确保我们的水排放符合最高环境标准 ,以便我们将其回收到水源地。

为此,我们在所有工厂进行水平衡研究,并在外部水专家的帮助下定期进行抽样检查。因此,在2018年,我们在生产过程中对15%的水进行了再利用和回收。这意味着我们减少了淡水的使用,与2013年的基线相比,我们的用水强度降低24%。

Pindo Deli Perawang是我们的一个工厂,在安装新的生活用纸造纸机后,工厂很快获得现代化设施的好处。自2015年以来,该工厂一直在进行用水审计。从水的排放到水源,工程团队对工艺的水平衡进行评估,并找出需要改进的地方。从2015年到2018年,通过改造泵送系统、密封件和清洗压榨喷淋设备,工厂降低了41%的用水强度。

与我们的所有工厂一样,Indah Kiat Perawang在整个运营中的各种工艺中重复使用水,减少了对淡水的需求。通过降低热水的稀释率,以及收集和再利用冷凝水(热回收),该厂在纸浆和纸张生产中的用水强度分别比2015年的基线降低13%和7%。通过检修现有设备和安装改进的纤维回收设备,该厂还将制浆活动产生的总悬浮固体量 (TSS) 降低63%。 投资和改进将持续到2019年,目标是减少83%的TSS。

废物

我们的大部分废物来自现场发电和制浆造纸过程。为兑现我们对循环经济的承诺,我们努力将废物减少到最低限度,并最大限度地利用废旧材料。

我们将副产品,如黑液、树皮和其他林业和制浆活动的残留物,在我们的综合浆纸厂转化为能源,直接替代化石燃料。除了从填埋场分流废物外,我们还利用这些废物流大幅降低我们工厂的碳强度。2018年,我们的综合工厂利用超过900万吨的副产品。

我们与当地政府密切合作,他们为我们颁发废物处理许可证,以便对废物进行再利用。我们将继续寻找合适的技术或合作伙伴,力求在这个方面取得更大成果。

认证

我们扩大了我们的纸浆木供应链中由正式第三方认证覆盖的范围。我们将认证作为“监管链”的保证工具,以此追踪我们使用的纤维的来源。

Banner Sustainability Poduction

Sustainability

Production

Sustainability is intrinsically linked to our products because we use responsibly sourced, renewable, and recycled fiber. On top of that, we apply innovative design and ensure high manufacturing efficiency in our mills to preserve the environment for our future generations.

Sustainability

Production

Sustainability is intrinsically linked to our products because we use responsibly sourced, renewable, and recycled fiber. On top of that, we apply innovative design and ensure high manufacturing efficiency in our mills to preserve the environment for our future generations.

Sustainability - Production

Responsible Sourcing

To achieve Asia Pulp and Papers' sustainability goals in production, we require all suppliers--both current and potential--to comply with our Forest Conservation Policy (FCP). Additionally, we have also developed the Responsible Fiber Procurement and Purchasing Policy (RFPPP) to guide our suppliers. It provides an overarching framework for the specific processes and criteria that we use in evaluating their compliance with our FCP.

Furthermore, we also developed Supplier Evaluation and Risk Assessment (SERA) tools to facilitate the implementation of the RFPPP across our fiber supply chain. For new suppliers, SERA acts as an initial screening to evaluate the level of risk within a supplier’s operations. Once accepted on our list, these approved suppliers will be subjected to annual SERA evaluations to ensure continued compliance with the FCP.

SERA evaluates suppliers against 12 indicators:

The company, or any of its associated companies in the pulpwood industry, converting natural forest after February 1st, 2013.

Country / region

Tree species

Third-party certification/verification

Chain of Custody System

Legality Compliance

Protection of High Conservation Values or High Carbon Stock

Species protection as listed on the IUCN Red List of Critical Endangered Species and CITES

Company’s respect for traditional civil and human rights

Compliance with ILO Core Conventions

Company’s respect for the health and safety of forest workers

No introduction of genetically modified organisms (GMOs)

We only accept woods from suppliers that have not converted any forest area identified as High Carbon Stock (HCS) as of February 2013.

Based on the risk assessment results, we categorize potential suppliers into "significant risk" or "negligible risk." If a potential supplier is categorized as a "significant risk," it will be required to implement corrective actions (CARs) within an agreed period. Otherwise, it will not be accepted as our supplier.

We upload the summary of the risk assessment report of all potential suppliers on the Asia Pulp and Paper monitoring site for public notification, 14 calendar days before we decide on whether or not to accept the potential supplier into our pulpwood supply chain.

Carbon and Energy

carbon

As we can’t rely on grid electricity alone to meet our entire energy demands, our mills must generate electricity and steam on their own. Therefore, we use renewable fuels where feasible, while in other cases our only option is to use coal or natural gas.

Such fuel use is the main contributor to carbon emissions in our operations. Less than 11% of our emissions are related to purchased electricity. And we mitigate our impacts through careful considerations of fuel types and investments on efficient production to ensure our energy demands are as low as possible.

We achieved a carbon Intensity reduction of 18% by the end of 2018, compared to a 2012 baseline, against a target of 10%. It is achieved predominantly by replacing fossil fuels with renewable fuels for energy generation. Meanwhile, our energy intensity decreased by 9% by the end of 2018, compared to a 2012 baseline, slightly short of our target of 10% that we committed to in Vision 2020.

Water

Water is key to our operation as we use it in pulp and paper production and steam production at various stages of the processes. At the same time, we recognize that our responsibility is to protect local water sources at all of our mill sites. Therefore, we minimize our consumption and ensure that our water-discharge meets the highest environmental standards so we can recycle it back to the water sources.

To do that, we conduct water balance studies at all mills and conduct regular sampling checks with the help of external water experts. And as a result, in 2018, we reused and recycled 15% of our water in our production processes. It means that we use less freshwater, reducing our water usage intensity by 24%, compared to the 2013 baseline.

Pindo Deli Perawang is one of our mills that immediately saw the benefits of modern installations, following the arrival of its new tissue machine. Water use audits have been conducted at the mill since 2015. Working backward from water-discharge to water source, the engineering team assess the water balance of the process and identify improvement areas. Modifications to pumping systems, seals and wash press showers all contributed to a 41% reduction in water use intensity from 2015 to 2018.

And like all of our mills, Indah Kiat Perawang reuses water in various processes throughout its operations, reducing the demand for freshwater. By reducing dilution rates of hot water besides collecting and reusing condensate heat recovery, the mill has reduced its water usage intensity for pulp and paper production by 13% and 7%, respectively, against the 2015 baseline. By overhauling existing equipment and installing improved fiber recovery equipment, the mill also reduced its total suspended solids (TSS) from pulp making activities by 63%. Investments and improvements will continue through 2019, with a target TSS reduction of 83%.

Waste

The majority of our waste comes from our onsite power production and pulp and paper making process. As a part of our commitments to the circular economy, we endeavor to minimize waste and maximize the opportunities to reuse waste materials.

We turn by-products, like black liquor, bark, and other residues from forestry and pulping activities, into energy sources that directly replace fossil fuels at our integrated pulp and paper mills. Besides diverting waste from landfills, using these waste streams helps reduce the carbon intensity of our mills significantly. In 2018, our integrated mills utilized over 9 million tonnes of these by-products.

Working closely with local governments, who issue the waste handling licenses we require to reuse a waste stream, we continue to look for suitable technologies or partners to provide us with such opportunities.

Certification

We have expanded the hectarage of our pulpwood supply chain that is covered by formal third-party certification. We use certification as a ‘chain of custody’ assurance tool that enables us to trace the fiber that we use to a well-managed source.