People Banner

可持续发展

人力

通过一系列项目赋予当地社区权力,我们建立一种机制,使经济增长与森林砍伐脱钩。我们的首要任务是确保每一位员工、承包商和来访者安全回家。

可持续发展

人力

通过一系列项目赋予当地社区权力,我们建立一种机制,使经济增长与森林砍伐脱钩。我们的首要任务是确保每一位员工、承包商和来访者安全回家。

Sustainability People

林农综合系统 (IFFS)

社区在森林保护中发挥着重要作用。在世界的许多地方,人们不仅住在森林附近,也住在森林里。我们必须把他们调动起来,共同保护环境。

因此,我们创建旗舰社区林业计划,以推动这一目标的实现。我们的“林农综合系统” (IFFS) 旨在为社区谋求繁荣,同时努力减少非法采伐、森林火灾和冲突。参与性社区计划旨在改善生计、传授知识、加强合作,实现森林管理的良性循环。

我们的目标是到2020年有500个村庄加入IFFS。截至2018年底,我们监督284个村庄加入该计划,包括16807户家庭、77个村办企业、8个村级合作社、199个农民协会和64个妇女团体。

尽管遇到诸多挑战,但我们还是收获积极成果,包括妇女在当地社区发挥日益重要的作用。2018年,中期观察显示,三分之二IFFS村庄的家庭收入有所提高,生计来源更加多样化,森林火灾减少,与工业的关系也有所改善。

通过这个项目,我们致力于赋予社区权力,让社区参与到我们的可持续运营中来,以实现景观规模的可持续森林管理,在APP和供应商的运营中改善保护和恢复成果。

 

Community Business Model Development in Partnership with ICRAF-CIFOR-YKAN

APP engages three organisations, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) and Yayasan Konservasi Alam Nusantara (YKAN , the main partner of The Nature Conservancy Indonesia) to develop a guideline to develop a business model for the community. This project originates from the desire to replicate the Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA) programme in other villages outside APP’s suppliers’ concession areas to support the government in local economic development while at the same time ensuring environmental protection. In developing the guidelines, each organisation uses their own approach to community empowerment.

CIFOR conducted their assessment in two villages in Riau, while ICRAF in two villages in South Sumatra and YKAN in two villages in West Kalimantan. In 2020, the CIFOR and ICRAF completed the business model development, as well as the monitoring and evaluation and the guideline on how to develop the business model itself.

Community Business Model Development in Partnership with ICRAF-CIFOR-YKAN

APP engages three organisations, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) and Yayasan Konservasi Alam Nusantara (YKAN , the main partner of The Nature Conservancy Indonesia) to develop a guideline to develop a business model for the community. This project originates from the desire to replicate the Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA) programme in other villages outside APP’s suppliers’ concession areas to support the government in local economic development while at the same time ensuring environmental protection. In developing the guidelines, each organisation uses their own approach to community empowerment.

CIFOR conducted their assessment in two villages in Riau, while ICRAF in two villages in South Sumatra and YKAN in two villages in West Kalimantan. In 2020, the CIFOR and ICRAF completed the business model development, as well as the monitoring and evaluation and the guideline on how to develop the business model itself.

社区赋权,女性赋权

社区赋权项目是我们的工作重点,目的是实现长期和可持续生计改善。我们根据每个案例的社会影响评估 (SIA),并在可行的情况下,制定有针对性的五年企业社会责任计划,对实际需求做出回应。

企业社会责任项目有四个重点:慈善、基础设施、能力建设和社区赋权。这些都与印尼政府的发展重点相一致,如社会林业,政府将林区分配给社区团体管理,以消除对天然林的压力。

在工厂层面,我们对社区提出的每项建议进行审查,然后给予资助。同时,每个工厂都有符合各自需求的年度工作方案。该方案由工厂与当地社区和其他受益者协商制定。

我们的社区投资计划是我们实现联合国可持续发展目标的关键,特别是目标1(无贫困)、目标2(零饥饿)和目标3(良好的健康和福祉)。其中一个以妇女赋权为重点的项目,与Martha Tilaar集团合作,并得到全球契约印尼网络的支持,旨在培训来自我们特许经营区和工厂周围社区的1000名妇女。同时,另一个项目旨在为社区提供清洁水和卫生设施。

.

 

自由、事先和知情同意

我们的森林保护政策承诺,在现有人工林地区,任何拟定开发或森林管理活动都要得到土著和当地社区的自由、事先和知情的同意 (FPIC)。它还要求我们有效地解决冲突并负责任地处理投诉。

当所有权或使用权有争议时,森林就面临砍伐的风险。在经济压力下,减贫往往成为人们采取环境上不可持续做法的根本原因。复杂的历史和习俗权利是导致这些做法的另一个因素。近年来,我们采取一系列措施来推动土地争端的解决,其中包括:

  • 绘制土地纠纷图。

  • 制定并实施工作计划,解决每一个土地纠纷案件。

  • 加快解决土地纠纷,将其纳入关键绩效指标。

  • 成立社会与安全处,处理土地纠纷。

  • 制定土地纠纷解决标准作业程序 (SOP)。

  • 建立区域社会工作组 (SWGR)。

截至2018年底,已有49%的土地纠纷得到解决,且进展稳定。其中约25%的冲突与特许区域内的村庄有关。

我们认识到,建立信任需要时间,失去信任却可能发生在一瞬间,而且村庄政治十分复杂,外部各方的参与会带来可能相互冲突的新利益。此外,地区级工作人员可能会在管理解决冲突方面遇到困难,从而加剧这种情况。为兑现我们对可持续发展和负责任运营的承诺,我们将尽力处理所有纠纷和冲突。

工人福利

满足员工的需求和吸引新人才对我们企业的长期可持续性发展至关重要。我们提供有吸引力的福利和工作条件,以及长期职业前景。我们提供的部分福利包括带薪年假、产假和育儿假、公休假、健康保险和公司养老金计划。除此之外,我们还为正式员工提供额外福利,但这些福利根据各个工厂所在地的法规而有所不同。

我们的员工福利政策推动我们的行动,详细说明了我们对员工安全、福利、人权、劳动权利、技能和数据保护的承诺。

我们努力将APP建设成为一家充满活力的公司,除了工资、健康保险、养老金,我们还为员工提供强有力的就业福利,通过各种表彰计划发放额外奖金,还每年对正式员工进行职业发展评估。

这些政策发挥了积极作用。

由于我们拥有一支忠诚、稳定的员工队伍,在我们组织的某些领域,管理层员工的流动率很低。我们还加强工作,确保年轻人才得到认可,让这些员工能够憧憬在APP的美好未来。

People Banner

Sustainability

People

By empowering local communities through a range of programs, we provide the mechanism to decouple economic growth from deforestation. And ensuring every employee, contractor and visitor to our sites returns home safe is our number one priority.

Sustainability

People

By empowering local communities through a range of programs, we provide the mechanism to decouple economic growth from deforestation. And ensuring every employee, contractor and visitor to our sites returns home safe is our number one priority.

Sustainability People

Integrated Forestry & Farming System (IFFS)

Communities play an important role in forest conservation. In many places around the world, people are living not only nearby but also inside forests. It is therefore important to engage with them to work together to protect the environment.

Consequently, we created our flagship community-forestry program to work towards that goal. Our Integrated Forestry and Farming System (IFFS) seeks prosperity for communities while working to reduce illegal logging, forest fires, and conflicts. The participatory community engagement program aims to improve livelihoods, transfer knowledge, improve collaboration, and create a virtuous circle of forest management.

We aim to have 500 villages to join IFFS by the year 2020. Until the end of 2018, we oversaw 284 villages joining this program, consisting of 16,807 households, 77 village-owned enterprises, eight village cooperatives, 199 farmer associations, and 64 women’s groups.

Despite the challenges that we have faced, positive outcomes, including the growing role of women in local communities, were witnessed. In 2018, interim observations also indicated better incomes for families in two-thirds of IFFS villages, with greater diversification of livelihoods, fewer forest fires, and better relations with industry.

As evident through this program, we are committed to empowering and involving communities in our sustainable operations, to achieve landscape-scale sustainable forest management, as well as improved protection and restoration outcomes across APP and supplier operations.

Empowering Community, Empowering Women

In our effort to improve lives, we have focused on community empowerment programs that deliver long-term and sustainable livelihood improvements. Our responses to on-ground needs are guided by a Social Impact Assessment (SIA) for each case, and if relevant and feasible, the creation of a targeted five-year CSR plan.

The CSR program priorities are divided into four pillars: Charity, Infrastructure, Capacity Building, and Community Empowerment. These are in line with the Government of Indonesia's development priorities, such as social forestry, where the Government allocates forest areas for management by community groups in an attempt to remove pressure on natural forests.

At the mill level, we review each proposal put forward by the community before funding it. At the same time, each mill has an annual working plan program adjusted to their respective needs, developed in consultation with local communities and other beneficiaries.

Our community investment programs are key to our commitment to addressing the United Nations’ SDGs, especially goal number 1 (no poverty), number 2 (zero-hunger), and number 3 (good health and well being). One such program focusing on women empowerment, in collaboration with Martha Tilaar Group and supported by Indonesia Global Compact Network, aims to train 1,000 women from communities in and around our concessions and mill operations. Meanwhile, another program seeks to provide the communities with access to clean water and hygiene facilities.

 

Free, Prior and Informed Consent

Our Forest Conservation Policy commits to Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) of indigenous and local communities on any proposed development or forest management activities in existing plantation areas. It also commits us to resolve conflict effectively and handle complaints responsibly.

Forests are at risk of clearance when ownership or tenure is contested. With economic pressures, the need to alleviate poverty often becomes the root cause of environmentally unsustainable practices. Complex historical and customary rights could also be a factor in these practices.Over recent years we have employed an array of measures to drive the resolution of land disputes. These include:

  • Mapping the land dispute.
  • Creating and implementing working plans to address each land dispute.
  • Accelerating land dispute resolution as part of Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).
  • Establishing a Social and Security Division to handle land dispute resolution.
  • Developing standard operating procedures (SOP) for land dispute resolution.
  • Establishing a Regional Social Working Group (SWGR).

By the end of 2018, 49% of land disputes were resolved, reflecting steady growth in conflict resolution. Some 25% of these conflicts were related to villages inside concession areas.

We have come to realize that trust takes time to build but can be lost in a moment, and that village politics can be complex, with involvement from external parties often bringing new, potentially conflicting, interests. This can also be exacerbated by the fact that staff at the district level may struggle to manage conflict resolution. Nevertheless, we strive to do our best in managing all disputes and conflicts as part of our commitment to sustainable and responsible operations.

Workers Welfare

Meeting our employees’ needs and attracting new talents are vital for the long term sustainability of our business. We provide attractive benefits and working conditions with long-term career prospects. Some of the benefits that we provide include paid annual leave, both maternal and paternal parental leave, sabbatical leave, health insurance, and a company pension plan. On top of that, additional benefits are also provided for permanent employees, but these vary according to local regulations under which each mill operates.

Our Employee Welfare Policy drives our action, detailing our commitment to meet the requirement of ILO Standards on employee safety, well-being, human rights, labor rights, skills, and data protection.

We strive to position APP as a dynamic company with strong employment benefits that extend beyond salary, health insurance, pension, the ability to earn an additional bonus through various recognition schemes we have in place, and annual career development reviews that our permanent employees receive.

These policies have had a positive effect.

With a loyal and long-serving workforce, the turnover within management staff is low in some areas of our organization. We have also stepped up our work to ensure that young talent is recognized and that these employees can envision a prosperous future at APP.