People Banner

الاستدامة

البشر

من خلال تمكين المجتمعات المحلية عبر مجموعة من البرامج، فإننا نوفر الآلية اللازمة للفصل بين النمو الاقتصادي وإزالة الغابات. وتأتي السلامة على رأس أولوياتنا، ونضمن لكل موظف ومقاول وزائر لمواقعنا العودة بأمان إلى منزله.

الاستدامة

البشر

من خلال تمكين المجتمعات المحلية عبر مجموعة من البرامج، فإننا نوفر الآلية اللازمة للفصل بين النمو الاقتصادي وإزالة الغابات. وتأتي السلامة على رأس أولوياتنا، ونضمن لكل موظف ومقاول وزائر لمواقعنا العودة بأمان إلى منزله.

Sustainability People

النظام المتكامل لزراعة الغابات والفلاحة (IFFS)

تؤدي المجتمعات دورًا مهمًا في المحافظة على الغابات؛ ففي أنحاء عديدة حول العالم، لا يعيش البشر بالقرب من الغابات فحسب، بل داخلها أيضًا؛ لذا، من المهم الانخراط معهم للعمل معًا على حماية البيئة.

ومن هذا المنطلق، عمدنا إلى وضع برنامجنا الرئيس المعني بالمجتمع وزراعة الغابات لبلوغ تلك الغاية. فالنظام المتكامل لزراعة الغابات والفلاحة يسعى إلى تحقيق الرخاء الاقتصادي للمجتمعات، ويعمل في الوقت ذاته على الحد من قطع الأشجار غير القانوني وحرائق الغابات والنزاعات. ويهدف برنامج اجتذاب المجتمعات المشاركة إلى تحسين سبل العيش ونقل المعارف وتعزيز التعاون وإنشاء حلقة مثمرة لإدارة الغابات.

نستهدف انضمام 500 قرية إلى النظام المتكامل لزراعة الغابات والفلاحة بحلول عام 2020. وتمكنا بنهاية 2018 من الإشراف على انضمام 284 قرية إلى هذا البرنامج، بواقع 16807 أسرة معيشية، و77 مشروعًا مملوكًا لقرى، و8 تعاونيات قروية، و199 اتحاد مزارعين، و64 مجموعة نسائية.

على الرغم من التحديات التي واجهناها، إلا أن جهودنا تكللت بنتائج مثمرة شملت تنامي دور المرأة في المجتمعات المحلية. ففي عام 2018، أشارت الملاحظات الأولية أيضًا إلى تحسن دخول الأسر في ثلثي القرى المنضمة إلى برنامج IFFS، مع تزايد مصادر سبل العيش وتناقص حرائق الغابات وتحسن العلاقات مع أصحاب الصناعة.

كما هو واضح من هذا البرنامج، نلتزم بتمكين المجتمعات وإشراكها في عملياتنا المستدامة؛ من أجل الوصول إلى إدارة مستدامة للغابات وحفظ المناظر الطبيعية، وكذلك تحسين نتائج الحماية والاستصلاح عبر عمليات APP ومورِّديها.

 

Community Business Model Development in Partnership with ICRAF-CIFOR-YKAN

APP engages three organisations, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) and Yayasan Konservasi Alam Nusantara (YKAN , the main partner of The Nature Conservancy Indonesia) to develop a guideline to develop a business model for the community. This project originates from the desire to replicate the Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA) programme in other villages outside APP’s suppliers’ concession areas to support the government in local economic development while at the same time ensuring environmental protection. In developing the guidelines, each organisation uses their own approach to community empowerment.

CIFOR conducted their assessment in two villages in Riau, while ICRAF in two villages in South Sumatra and YKAN in two villages in West Kalimantan. In 2020, the CIFOR and ICRAF completed the business model development, as well as the monitoring and evaluation and the guideline on how to develop the business model itself.

Community Business Model Development in Partnership with ICRAF-CIFOR-YKAN

APP engages three organisations, World Agroforestry (ICRAF), Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) and Yayasan Konservasi Alam Nusantara (YKAN , the main partner of The Nature Conservancy Indonesia) to develop a guideline to develop a business model for the community. This project originates from the desire to replicate the Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA) programme in other villages outside APP’s suppliers’ concession areas to support the government in local economic development while at the same time ensuring environmental protection. In developing the guidelines, each organisation uses their own approach to community empowerment.

CIFOR conducted their assessment in two villages in Riau, while ICRAF in two villages in South Sumatra and YKAN in two villages in West Kalimantan. In 2020, the CIFOR and ICRAF completed the business model development, as well as the monitoring and evaluation and the guideline on how to develop the business model itself.

تمكين المجتمع، تمكين المرأة

في إطار جهودنا الرامية إلى تحسين حياة السكان، انصب تركيزنا على الاهتمام ببرامج تمكين المجتمعات التي تثمر عن تحسين سبل العيش المستدامة وعلى المدى الطويل. وتسترشد استجاباتنا للاحتياجات الفعلية على الأرض بتقييم للأثر الاجتماعي (SIA) لكل حالة على حدة؛ وكذلك وضع خطة خماسية الأعوام بشأن المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركة إن كان ذلك مناسبًا وممكنًا.

تنقسم أولويات برنامج المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركة إلى أربعة أركان رئيسة: العمل الخيري، والبنية التحتية، وبناء القدرات، وتمكين المجتمعات. وتأتي تلك الأولويات بالتزامن مع أولويات التنمية التي وضعتها حكومة إندونيسيا، مثل: الحراجة الاجتماعية التي تخصص فيها الحكومة مناطق حرجية لإدارتها من قِبل مجموعات محلية في محاولة لإزالة الضغط على الغابات الطبيعية.

أما على مستوى المصانع، نراجع كل مقترح يقدمه المجتمع قبل تمويله، وتُخصص في الوقت ذاته خطة عمل سنوية لكل مصنع وتُعدَّل بحيث تلبي الاحتياجات المعنية، وتوضع بالتشاور مع المجتمعات المحلية والأطراف المستفيدة الأخرى.

تشكِّل برامجنا المعنية بالاستثمارات المجتمعية مبدأ رئيسًا في التزامنا بتحقيق أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة، وبخاصة الهدف رقم 1 (القضاء على الفقر)، والهدف رقم 2 (القضاء على الجوع)، والهدف رقم 3 (الصحة الجيدة والرفاه). ويركِّز أحد تلك البرامج على تمكين المرأة بالتعاون مع مجموعة شركات Martha Tilaar Group وبدعم من شبكة الاتفاق العالمي في إندونيسيا، ويهدف إلى تدريب 1000 سيدة من مجتمعات في مناطق امتيازاتنا وعمليات مصانعنا وما حولها. وثمة برنامج آخر يسعى في الوقت ذاته إلى تزويد المجتمعات بإمكانية الوصول إلى مياه الشرب النظيفة والمرافق الصحية.

.

 

الموافقة الحرة والمسبقة والمستنيرة

انطلاقًا من سياستنا المعنية بالمحافظة على الغابات نلتزم بالحصول على موافقة حرة ومسبقة ومستنيرة من السكان الأصليين والمجتمعات المحلية بشأن أي أنشطة مقترحة للتنمية أو إدارة الغابات في المناطق الحرجية الحالية، وتلزمنا تلك السياسة أيضًا بحل النزاعات بفعالية والتعامل مع الشكاوى بمسؤولية.

تتعرض الغابات لخطر الإزالة عند النزاع على الملكية أو الحيازة؛ وفي ظل الضغوطات الاقتصادية تصبح الحاجة إلى تخفيف وطأة الفقر في أغلب الأحيان السبب الرئيس للممارسات غير المستدامة بيئيًا. وقد تشكِّل الحقوق التاريخية والعرفية المتشابكة عاملاً أيضًا في تلك الممارسات؛ فعلى مدار السنوات الماضية وضعنا مجموعة من التدابير لتسوية النزاعات على الأراضي، بما في ذلك:

  • إعداد خرائط نزاعات الأراضي.
  • وضع خطط عمل وتنفيذها لحل كل نزاع على الأراضي.
  • تسريع تسوية نزاعات الأراضي كجزء من مؤشرات الأداء الأساسية.
  • تأسيس شعبة للأمن والشؤون الاجتماعية للتعامل مع مسائل تسوية نزاعات الأراضي.
  • وضع إجراءات تشغيل موحدة لتسوية نزاعات الأراضي.
  • تكوين فريق عامل معني بالشؤون الاجتماعية الإقليمية.

بحلول نهاية عام 2018 تم حل 49% من نزاعات الأراضي؛ مما يعكس التقدم المستمر في حل النزاعات، فقد كانت 25% تقريبًا من هذه النزاعات مرتبطة بقرى داخل مناطق امتيازات.

لقد أدركنا في النهاية أن الثقة تستغرق وقتًا للبناء لكنها قد تُفقد في لحظة؛ وأن تلك السياسات المعنية بالقرى قد تكون معقدة ومتشابكة وتشهد تدخلات من أطراف خارجية تحمل معها مصالح مستجدة وتنطوي على نزاعات محتملة، وقد تزداد الأمور سوءًا عندما يسعى موظفون على مستوى الإدارة المحلية إلى إدارة عملية التسوية. ومع ذلك، نبذل قصارى جهدنا في إدارة جميع النزاعات والصراعات في إطار التزامنا بتنفيذ عملياتنا على نحو مستدام ومسؤول.

رعاية العمال

تمثِّل تلبية احتياجات موظفينا واستقطاب مواهب جديدة عاملاً حيويًا لاستدامة أعمالنا على المدى الطويل، ونوفر استحقاقات جاذبة وظروف عمل مغرية تنطوي على إمكانات للترقي الوظيفي طويل الأجل. من بين الاستحقاقات التي نوفرها إجازة سنوية مدفوعة الأجر وإجازة أمومة وإجازة أبوة وإجازة والدية، وإجازة تفرغ، وتأمين صحي، ونظام معاشات تقاعدية بالشركة. وفوق ذلك كله هناك استحقاقات إضافية تُقدَّم أيضًا للموظفين الدائمين، لكنها تختلف حسب اللوائح المحلية التي يعمل كل مصنع وفقًا لها.

نلتزم التزامًا أكيدًا بسياستنا المعنية برعاية موظفينا في جميع إجراءاتنا وفي استيفاء المتطلبات التي تلبي معايير منظمة العمل الدولية بشأن سلامة الموظفين ورفاهيتهم وحقوقهم الإنسانية وحقوقهم العمالية ومهاراتهم وحماية بياناتهم.

نسعى بجد لتحظى APP بمكانتها كشركة ديناميكية تقدِّم استحقاقات عمل قوية تتجاوز حدود المرتب والتأمين الصحي والمعاش والقدرة على اكتساب علاوات إضافية من خلال خطط تقدير متنوعة نطبِّقها على أرض الواقع، ومراجعات سنوية للتطوير الوظيفي يتلقاها موظفونا الدائمون.

وقد كان لتلك السياسات مردودها الإيجابي وأثرها البنّاء.

وبفضل قوى عاملة مخلصة وطويلة الخدمة، انخفض معدل انفكاكات الموظفين داخل فريق الإدارة في بعض النواحي بمؤسستنا. وقد عمدنا أيضًا إلى تطوير أعمالنا من خلال ضمان تقدير المواهب الشابة وتمكينها من وضع تصور يستشرف آفاق المستقبل المزدهر في APP.

People Banner

Sustainability

People

By empowering local communities through a range of programs, we provide the mechanism to decouple economic growth from deforestation. And ensuring every employee, contractor and visitor to our sites returns home safe is our number one priority.

Sustainability

People

By empowering local communities through a range of programs, we provide the mechanism to decouple economic growth from deforestation. And ensuring every employee, contractor and visitor to our sites returns home safe is our number one priority.

Sustainability People

Integrated Forestry & Farming System (IFFS)

Communities play an important role in forest conservation. In many places around the world, people are living not only nearby but also inside forests. It is therefore important to engage with them to work together to protect the environment.

Consequently, we created our flagship community-forestry program to work towards that goal. Our Integrated Forestry and Farming System (IFFS) seeks prosperity for communities while working to reduce illegal logging, forest fires, and conflicts. The participatory community engagement program aims to improve livelihoods, transfer knowledge, improve collaboration, and create a virtuous circle of forest management.

We aim to have 500 villages to join IFFS by the year 2020. Until the end of 2018, we oversaw 284 villages joining this program, consisting of 16,807 households, 77 village-owned enterprises, eight village cooperatives, 199 farmer associations, and 64 women’s groups.

Despite the challenges that we have faced, positive outcomes, including the growing role of women in local communities, were witnessed. In 2018, interim observations also indicated better incomes for families in two-thirds of IFFS villages, with greater diversification of livelihoods, fewer forest fires, and better relations with industry.

As evident through this program, we are committed to empowering and involving communities in our sustainable operations, to achieve landscape-scale sustainable forest management, as well as improved protection and restoration outcomes across APP and supplier operations.

Empowering Community, Empowering Women

In our effort to improve lives, we have focused on community empowerment programs that deliver long-term and sustainable livelihood improvements. Our responses to on-ground needs are guided by a Social Impact Assessment (SIA) for each case, and if relevant and feasible, the creation of a targeted five-year CSR plan.

The CSR program priorities are divided into four pillars: Charity, Infrastructure, Capacity Building, and Community Empowerment. These are in line with the Government of Indonesia's development priorities, such as social forestry, where the Government allocates forest areas for management by community groups in an attempt to remove pressure on natural forests.

At the mill level, we review each proposal put forward by the community before funding it. At the same time, each mill has an annual working plan program adjusted to their respective needs, developed in consultation with local communities and other beneficiaries.

Our community investment programs are key to our commitment to addressing the United Nations’ SDGs, especially goal number 1 (no poverty), number 2 (zero-hunger), and number 3 (good health and well being). One such program focusing on women empowerment, in collaboration with Martha Tilaar Group and supported by Indonesia Global Compact Network, aims to train 1,000 women from communities in and around our concessions and mill operations. Meanwhile, another program seeks to provide the communities with access to clean water and hygiene facilities.

 

Free, Prior and Informed Consent

Our Forest Conservation Policy commits to Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) of indigenous and local communities on any proposed development or forest management activities in existing plantation areas. It also commits us to resolve conflict effectively and handle complaints responsibly.

Forests are at risk of clearance when ownership or tenure is contested. With economic pressures, the need to alleviate poverty often becomes the root cause of environmentally unsustainable practices. Complex historical and customary rights could also be a factor in these practices.Over recent years we have employed an array of measures to drive the resolution of land disputes. These include:

  • Mapping the land dispute.
  • Creating and implementing working plans to address each land dispute.
  • Accelerating land dispute resolution as part of Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).
  • Establishing a Social and Security Division to handle land dispute resolution.
  • Developing standard operating procedures (SOP) for land dispute resolution.
  • Establishing a Regional Social Working Group (SWGR).

By the end of 2018, 49% of land disputes were resolved, reflecting steady growth in conflict resolution. Some 25% of these conflicts were related to villages inside concession areas.

We have come to realize that trust takes time to build but can be lost in a moment, and that village politics can be complex, with involvement from external parties often bringing new, potentially conflicting, interests. This can also be exacerbated by the fact that staff at the district level may struggle to manage conflict resolution. Nevertheless, we strive to do our best in managing all disputes and conflicts as part of our commitment to sustainable and responsible operations.

Workers Welfare

Meeting our employees’ needs and attracting new talents are vital for the long term sustainability of our business. We provide attractive benefits and working conditions with long-term career prospects. Some of the benefits that we provide include paid annual leave, both maternal and paternal parental leave, sabbatical leave, health insurance, and a company pension plan. On top of that, additional benefits are also provided for permanent employees, but these vary according to local regulations under which each mill operates.

Our Employee Welfare Policy drives our action, detailing our commitment to meet the requirement of ILO Standards on employee safety, well-being, human rights, labor rights, skills, and data protection.

We strive to position APP as a dynamic company with strong employment benefits that extend beyond salary, health insurance, pension, the ability to earn an additional bonus through various recognition schemes we have in place, and annual career development reviews that our permanent employees receive.

These policies have had a positive effect.

With a loyal and long-serving workforce, the turnover within management staff is low in some areas of our organization. We have also stepped up our work to ensure that young talent is recognized and that these employees can envision a prosperous future at APP.