Banner Sustainability Forest

可持续发展

森林

金光集团旗下的亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP)采用景观级的森林管理方法。这意味着我们的目光不仅仅局限于自己的特许权范围,而是采取真正的合作方式保护、恢复和重建印尼的森林,因为我们保护的每一棵树都关乎我们的未来。

可持续发展

森林

金光集团旗下的亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP)采用景观级的森林管理方法。这意味着我们的目光不仅仅局限于自己的特许权范围,而是采取真正的合作方式保护、恢复和重建印尼的森林,因为我们保护的每一棵树都关乎我们的未来。

Sustainability Forest

森林保护和恢复承诺

当亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 开始实施《森林保护政策》 (FCP) 时,我们明白,仅仅结束天然林的砍伐还不足以实现我们的可持续发展愿景。

FCP的实际执行情况告诉我们,传统森林保护模式是行不通的,仅仅保护供应商特许经营区内的森林是不够的。经过与我们利益攸关方的仔细磋商,我们意识到,我们需要将目光投向供应商的特许经营权之外,考虑这些供应商所处的广阔环境中的机会、威胁和影响。 此举将帮助我们有效实施《森林保护政策》并实现长期“零毁林”目标。

因此,森林保护和恢复承诺为我们的FCP提供了重要支撑。

然而,这项工作面临着诸多挑战。要在我们的直接影响范围之外采取行动,我们需要让广泛的利益攸关方参与进来,无论是社区、非政府组织,还是政府或行业。这需要多个利益相关方进行前所未有的合作,同时各方对保护、保存和恢复印尼森林做出承诺。

没有任何其他公司尝试过如此大规模的保护行动,因此没有单一的蓝图可以遵循。我们与合作伙伴和利益攸关方紧密合作,设计、实施和测试我们的项目,并在此过程中开发最佳实践。

如需了解更多关于亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 森林保护和恢复的信息,请访问可持续发展面板

泥炭地管理

我们通过《森林保护政策》 (FCP),支持印度尼西亚政府实现其低排放发展目标和减排目标。这项工作的主要内容是践行我们对保护森林泥炭地的承诺,确保在我们和供应商的运营中进行最有效的泥炭地管理,以减少我们纸浆木材供应商所经营的泥炭地景观的温室气体 (GHG) 排放。

为履行这一承诺,我们要求纸浆木供应商停止进一步开发供应商特许权范围内森林未覆盖泥炭地上的人工林、运河和其他基础设施,直到完成独立高保护价值 (HCV) 评估(包括泥炭专家的意见)。 这些区域未来的任何开发计划也将遵循“最佳实践 ”管理规定。

这些最佳实践由2014年1月成立的泥炭地专家团队 (PET) 制定。 PET成员包括来自Deltares(来自荷兰的一家水、地下和基础设施应用研究机构)和Euroconsult Mott MacDonald(一家主要在发展中国家和转型经济体运营的国际发展咨询公司)的国际知名专家。PET成员都具有印度尼西亚泥炭地经验。

最佳管理实践 (BMP) 的制定分为两个阶段,每个阶段分几个连续步骤,每个步骤都是后一个步骤的基础。

PET于2014年6月完成为期3个月的启动阶段,并提交一份报告,其中概述了制定泥炭地最佳管理做法的过程,并确定一系列问题,这些问题将构成项目第二阶段的框架。

初始阶段报告发布后,金光集团旗下的亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 和PET共同制定泥炭项目第二阶段的职权范围 (ToR)。2014年12月,ToR完成,Deltares担任泥炭项目第二阶段的负责人。第二阶段的目标是为我们供应商特许权内和周围的泥炭景观制定BMP。

保护印尼的主要物种

我们的保护计划重点关注三个动物物种:苏门答腊虎、苏门答腊象和红毛猩猩,具体目标是在我们的纸浆木材供应商特许经营区内保持每个物种的野生种群水平。为实现这一目标,我们跟踪种群数量,绘制分布图,最大限度地减少人类与野生动物的冲突,在特许区内和特许区之间建立生态走廊。

 

 

保护苏门答腊虎

2017年,在几个合作伙伴的帮助下,我们通过建立野生动物走廊改善了老虎的栖息地,并进行相机捕捉调查,以跟踪老虎的数量。我们还成立了一个专家团队,通过培训野外工作者和社区居民来缓解人虎冲突。我们在这项工作中的合作伙伴包括政府、苏门答腊虎保护基金会 (Forum HarimauKita) 和ZSL印度尼西亚公司。

保护苏门答腊象

2017年,我们在特许区内设立喂食站,并扩大种群监测活动动。我们还成立了一支专家团队,通过社区教育、使用非暴力和教育方法进行反偷猎巡逻来管理人象冲突。我们的合作伙伴包括政府、印尼大象保护论坛和Belantara基金会。

保护红毛猩猩

我们支持减少人与猩猩冲突的措施,并继续提高人们的认识,帮助实施我们对伤害濒危物种的零容忍政策。我们与东加里曼丹自然资源保护局、库泰国家公园和国际红毛猩猩基金会合作。

可持续森林管理

综合可持续森林管理计划 (ISFMP) 是我们的主要举措之一,有助于实现我们的森林保护政策承诺。ISFMP的制定是一个长期合作过程,包括汇编和整合数据以及通过各种评估收集到的建议,如高保护价值 (HCV)、高碳储量 (HCS)、社会冲突地图、法律要求和义务,以及所有相关的利益攸关方,包括当地社区、政府、学术界和民间团体的意见。亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 的每家供应商都必须制定ISFMP,以确保我们的FCP承诺得到考虑和遵守。

每一份综合计划都将成为我们每个供应商特许经营区土地资源可持续管理的蓝图。 ISFMP为每个供应商提供改善可持续性和管理实践的行动计划。

每个ISFMP都包括几个基本要素。 它为每个森林管理单位 (FMU) 设定了长期森林管理目标,并考虑到环境和社会经济的先决条件以及土地权利。 它还提供一项行动计划,以帮助FMU解决有关森林保护与管理的所有问题:造林、采伐、环境管理以及识别和保护稀有和濒危动植物物种。最后,ISFMP将提供最新的特许权地图,确定所有供应商特许权的保护区、森林管理活动的位置和土地权利状况。

如需更多关于亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 综合可持续管理计划的信息,请访问可持续发展面板

 

综合消防管理

森林火灾是一个复杂的全球性问题,影响到当地社区和环境。由于问题的复杂性,必须由多个利益攸关方共同解决,这也是亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 的核心方法。

我们与纸浆木材供应商、当地社区和利益攸关方密切合作,以防止和缓解此类土地和森林火灾。

我们于2016年1月实施的综合火灾管理 (IFM) 系统基于全球火灾管理的最佳实践,包括四大支柱:预防、准备、早期探测和快速反应。

预防

我们的IFM见证我们从一个被动消防部队发展成一个随时准备在火灾发生时处理火灾并能够防止火灾蔓延的部队。在供应商和当地社区的参与下,我们建立一套可帮助预防火灾的系统。

此外,我们还对所有纸浆木材供应商实施严格的零燃烧政策,我们目前和未来的所有供应商都必须遵守这一政策。

我们还制订了一个农林计划,作为消防工作的补充。该计划旨在为我们特许权内和周围的社区提供其他形式的生计来源。我们的林农综合系统 (IFFS) 所推广的替代方式,如蔬菜和水果种植以及饲养牲畜,旨在减少社区对原始森林的依赖,推广非刀耕火种式的环保耕作方法。IFFS项目于2015年启动,除了教育之外,还提供技术和资金援助,让人们接受这些方法。IFFS的目标是,到2020年,在我们的特许权范围内及周边地区覆盖500个村庄。

同时,我们正在与社区密切合作,以加强当地的消防委员会,或Masyarakat Peduli Api (MPA),使他们能够在防火方面发挥更大的作用,包括更频繁的地面巡逻。成功保持森林零火灾的MPA每月会获得现金奖励。

我们还继续开展周边运河封堵工作,提高高风险地区的水位,以防止火灾蔓延,并在发生火灾时作为水源。

准备

亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 和我们的纸浆木材供应商聘请2,700名消防员并购置10架大中型直升机,随时准备应对火灾。我们按照全球最佳做法,为这支消防部队提供培训,以便在旱季到来之前增强战斗力和信心。

我们聘请国际消防管理专家为我们提供“重大事故应急指挥系统” (ICS) 培训,以帮助个人和团队提升能力,强调协调地面和空中消防工作的重要性。

早期探测

亚洲浆纸业有限公司 (APP) 进行热成像试验,以不断提高火灾探测能力。热成像数据比卫星图像精确得多,其地面精度可达到距离实际位置50米以内。 这一火灾探测和绘图方面的首创举措,使配备热像仪的飞机能够在15分钟内捕捉到数据,并将数据传送给总部和现场工作人员。

实地观察仍然是发现火灾的最佳方法,作为技术的补充,我们还聘请当地人称为Regu Pemadam Kebakaran (RPK) 的消防巡逻队定期巡视。他们按照印度尼西亚气象学、气候学和地球物理学机构的火灾危险等级制度做出反应。巡逻的频率由每个巡逻队负责的每个地区的火险程度决定。平均频率已全面提高,以增强保护。

快速反应

为加强我们的地面工作,并补充综合安全系统培训,对火灾事件的反应将由地面和空中消防协调进行。我们使用一架运载3500升水的重型直升机做出快速反应,使我们的地面部队有更多缓冲时间。

Banner Sustainability Forest

Sustainability

Forest

Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas adopts a landscape level approach to forest management. This means we look beyond just our own concession boundaries and take a truly collaborative approach toward the protection, rehabilitation, and restoration of Indonesia's forests because every tree we preserve is growing our tomorrow.

Sustainability

Forest

Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas adopts a landscape level approach to forest management. This means we look beyond just our own concession boundaries and take a truly collaborative approach toward the protection, rehabilitation, and restoration of Indonesia's forests because every tree we preserve is growing our tomorrow.

Sustainability Forest

Forest Protection and Restoration Commitment

When Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas embarked on its Forest Conservation Policy (FCP), we understood that ending natural forest clearance alone would not be enough to achieve our sustainability vision.

The FCP implementation on the ground has taught us that traditional models of forest conservation do not work and that merely protecting areas inside our suppliers’ concessions is not enough. Following careful consultation with our stakeholders, we realized that we need to look beyond our supplier concessions and consider the opportunities, threats, and impacts of the wider landscapes within which those suppliers sit. By doing this, we will give our Forest Conservation Policy and its Zero Deforestation ambition the best chance of success in the long term.

The forest protection and restoration commitment, therefore, offers critical support to our FCP.

The challenges inherent in this effort cannot be overstated. To act outside of our direct sphere of influence, we will need to engage a wide range of stakeholders: from communities, NGOs, government, to the industry. This will require an unprecedented level of multi-stakeholder collaboration and a commitment from all parties to protect, preserve, and restore Indonesia’s forests.

No other company has tried to implement a conservation commitment on this scale, so there is no single blueprint to follow. Instead, we work closely with partners and stakeholders to design, implement, and test our programs, as well as developing best practices along the way.

More about Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas Forest Protection and Restoration can be found at Sustainability Dashboard.

Peatland Management

Through our Forest Conservation Policy (FCP), we are committed to supporting the Government of Indonesia in achieving its low emissions development goals and emissions reduction targets. A major component of that commitment comes from our pledge to protect forested peatlands and ensure best practice peatland management across our business operations and suppliers to reduce Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions from the peatland landscapes in which our pulpwood suppliers operate.

In keeping with this commitment, we require our pulpwood suppliers to halt further development of plantation, canals, and other infrastructures within undeveloped suppliers’ concessions on non-forested peatland until independent High Conservation Values (HCV) assessments, including input from peat experts, are completed. Any future development plans in these areas will also be subject to ‘best practice’ management prescriptions.

These best practices are developed by our Peatland Expertise Team (PET), which was established in January 2014. The PET comprises internationally recognized experts from Deltares (a Dutch institute for applied research in the field of water, subsurface, and infrastructure) and Euroconsult Mott MacDonald (an international development consultancy working primarily in developing countries and economies in transition). The PET members all have peatland experience in Indonesia.

The development of Best Management Practices (BMP) is a process comprising two phases with several sequential steps each building upon the previous.

The PET completed its 3-month inception phase in June 2014 and delivered a report that outlined a process for the development of BMP for peatland as well as identifying a range of issues that would form the framework for the second phase of the project.

Following the Inception Phase report, Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas and the PET worked to establish the terms of reference (ToR) for the second phase of the peat project. In December 2014, the ToR was completed and Deltares was appointed to lead the second phase of the peat project. The objective of the second phase is to develop and implement BMPs for peat landscapes in and around Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas suppliers’ concessions.

Conserving Indonesia's Key Species

Our conservation program focuses on three priority species of fauna: Sumatran tiger, Sumatran elephant, and orangutan, with a specific objective to maintain the level of wild populations of each species within our pulpwood supplier concessions. To achieve this objective, we track population numbers, map distributions, minimize human-wildlife conflicts, establish ecological corridors within and between concessions.

 

Sumatran Tiger Conservation

In 2017, with help from several partners, we improved tiger habitats by establishing wildlife corridors and conducted camera trap surveys to track tiger populations. We also established a specialist team to mitigate human-tiger conflict by educating field workers and communities. Our partners in this work include the government, the Sumatran Tiger Conservation Foundation (Forum HarimauKita), and ZSL Indonesia.

10% of total Sumatran tiger

population roam Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas supplier's area (46 of 400-600 individuals).

Sumatran Elephant Conservation

In 2017 we set up feeding stations within our concessions and expanded the population monitoring movements. We also established a specialist team to manage human-elephant conflicts by educating communities and running anti-poaching patrols using non-violent and educational methods. Our partners in this include the government, the Indonesian Elephant Conservation Forum (Forum Konservasi Gajah Indonesia), and the Belantara Foundation.

7% of total Elephant

population roam Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas supplier's area numbering at 201 of 2,400-2,600 total individuals.

Orangutan Conservation

We support measures to reduce human-orangutan conflicts and continue to raise awareness to help enforce our zero-tolerance policy on harming endangered species. We work together with Natural Resources Conservation Agency – East Kalimantan, Kutai National Park, and the Orangutan Foundation International.

11.7% of total orangutan population

roam Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas supplier's area in Kutai National Park (total estimated population of 600).

Sustainable Forest Management

The Integrated Sustainable Forest Management Plan (ISFMP) is one of our key initiatives that help realize our Forest Conservation Policy commitments. The ISFMP was developed through a long collaborative process that involved compiling and consolidating data as well as recommendations gathered through various assessments such as High Conservation Value (HCV), High Carbon Stock (HCS), Social Conflict Mapping, the legal requirements and obligations, as well as input from all relevant stakeholders including local communities, government, academia, and civil societies. Each Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas supplier must produce an ISFMP to ensure that our FCP commitments have been considered and adhered to.

Each integrated plan will form the blueprint for the sustainable management of our land resources in each of our supplier concessions. The ISFMPs equip each supplier with action plans for improving sustainability and management practices.

Each ISFMP comprises several essential elements. It sets long-term forest management goals for each Forest Management Unit (FMU), which take into account environmental and socio-economic pre-conditions, and the status of land rights. It also provides an action plan to help the FMU address all aspects of forest conservation and management: silviculture, harvesting, environmental management, and identification and protection of rare and endangered species of fauna and flora. Finally, the ISFMP will provide updated maps of the concession that identify protected areas, location of forest management activities and land rights status in all of our supplier concessions.

More about Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas Integrated Sustainable Management Plan can be found at Sustainability Dashboard.

Integrated Fire Management

The occurrence of forest fires is a complex global issue that affects both local communities and the environment. The complex nature of the problem necessitates a multi-stakeholder approach that is at the heart of Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas’ approach.

We place great emphasis on working closely with our pulpwood suppliers, local communities and relevant stakeholders to prevent and mitigate such land and forest fires.

Our Integrated Fire Management (IFM) system that was implemented in January 2016 is based on global best practices for fire management that comprises four pillars: prevention, preparedness, early detection, and rapid response.

 

Prevention

Our IFM has seen us evolve from a reactive fire-fighting force to one that is ready to tackle fires as they happen and able to prevent these fires from spreading. Engaging suppliers and local communities, we now have a system that can help prevent fires from occurring.

This is in addition to a strict zero burning policy that was implemented to all of its pulpwood suppliers, a policy that all our current and prospective suppliers must abide by.

Our fire-fighting efforts are complemented by an agroforestry program aimed at providing alternative forms of livelihoods for local communities in and around our concessions. Alternatives promoted in our Integrated Forestry and Farming System (IFFS), such as vegetable and fruit farming, and rearing livestock, are designed to reduce communities’ dependence on primary forests and promote environmentally-friendly farming methods that do not utilize slash-and-burn methods to clear land. Launched in 2015, the IFFS program goes further than education, providing technical and financial assistance to embrace these methods. The IFFS aims to reach 500 villages in and around our concessions by 2020.

We are concurrently working closely with communities to strengthen the local firefighting councils, or Masyarakat Peduli Api (MPA), to enable them to play larger roles in fire prevention that include more frequent ground patrols. MPAs that manage to maintain zero fires in their forests will be awarded monthly cash incentives.

We have also continued our effort in Perimeter Canal Blocking that has seen water levels at high-risk areas raised to prevent fires from spreading, and also to serve as a water source for in the event of a fire.

 

Preparation

Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas and our pulpwood suppliers have in their employ 2,700 firefighters and 10 medium and large capacity helicopters on standby for water-bombing in the event of a fire. Following global best practice, training is provided for this firefighting force to build sharpness and confidence ahead of the dry season.

We have engaged international fire management experts to provide Incident Command System (ICS) training, a complementary move to the development of individual and team competence, to emphasize the importance of coordinating ground and aerial firefighting efforts.

 

Early Detection

Asia Pulp & Paper (APP) Sinar Mas conducts thermal imaging trials as part of its continual efforts to improve fire detection capabilities. Thermal imaging data is considerably more accurate than satellite imagery and has an on-ground accuracy that can pinpoint a fire within 50 meters of its real ground position. This first-of-its-kind initiative in fire detection and mapping has seen thermal camera-equipped planes capturing data that is relayed to headquarters and field staff within 15 minutes.

Eyes on the ground remain the best method of spotting fires, and to complement our use of technology, the fire patrols, known locally as Regu Pemadam Kebakaran (RPK), conduct regular rounds. Their responses follow the Indonesian Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency’s Fire Danger Rating System. The frequency of patrol is determined by the level of fire risk faced in each area designated to each patrol, but this average frequency has been increased across the board for added protection.

 

Rapid Response

To fortify our efforts on the ground and compliment the training provided on ICS, response to fire incidents will be coordinated by both ground and aerial firefighting efforts. A heavy helicopter carrying up to 3,500 liters of water will be used for rapid response, giving our ground forces a little extra time to arrive at a fire.